Seve​ral Awards Go To Extension Personnel Across the State

Hal Pepper, UT Center for Profitable Agriculture

Hal Pepper, a value-added financial specialist with UT’s Center for Profitable Agriculture in Spring Hill, is the statewide winner of the Lloyd and Nettie Downen Endowment Award. The award is named for former UT Extension Dean Lloyd Downen and his wife Nettie. It recognizes faculty who serve in leadership roles, and includes a stipend for further leadership training. Photo courtesy UTIA.

KNOXVILLE, Tenn. – The University of Tennessee Institute of Agriculture recently presented several awards to top faculty, staff, researchers and extension experts. More than two dozen people were recognized at UTIA’s annual Awards and Promotions Luncheon held on the UTIA campus in Knoxville July 28, 2017. Many of the awards are gifts made possible by past faculty, alumni and friends of the Institute.

UTIA Chancellor Dr. Tim Cross hosted the award winners, and praised them for their work. “The people at the UT Institute of Agriculture word hard every day to deliver real life solutions to our many stakeholders,” Cross says. “Recognition of the outstanding work by our award winners inspires all of us to strive for excellence and make a difference in the lives of Tennesseans.”

The 2017 winners are:
Bill and Ann Hicks New Extension Worker Award – Dr. Tyson Raper, UT Extension Cotton & Small Grains Specialist, West Tennessee Research & Education Center

Vernon and Ida Darter Award – Chris Hicks, UT Extension - Smith County

Lloyd and Nettie Downen Award – Hal Pepper, UT Center for Profitable Agriculture, Spring Hill

G.L. Carter 4-H Agent Award – Carlene Welch, UT Extension – Knox County

Alice Ann Moore 4-H Agent Award – Bob Shumake, UT Extension – Weakley County

Tennessee Association of Agricultural Agents/Hicks Award – Troy Dugger, UT Extension – Hickman County

Charles and Julie Wharton Award of Extension Achievements –

Cavender Award for Best Publication – Dr. Natalie Bumgarner, Assistant Professor Plant Sciences and UT Extension Master Gardener Coordinator, Dr. Jennie Ivey, Assistant Professor Animals Sciences and Tennessee Master Horse Program 

J.E. Moss Achievement Awards – 
Charles Lambrecht​, IT Coordinator, UT College of Veterinary Medicine
Dr. Charlie Parker​, UT College of Agricultural Sciences and Natural Resources, Construction Science
Joe Sarten, Engineer, UT AgResearch
Dr. Aaron Smith, UT Extension Agricultural and Resource Economics

E.J. Chapman Award – Amelia Rader, UT AgResearch and Education Center, Greeneville

Gamma Sigma Delta Team Award – UT Value-Added Beef Program Team

Webster Pendergrass Award​ – Dr. Hank Kattesh, Professor, Animal Science

​​Mildred Pendergrass Award​ – Kim Abney, UT College of Veterinary Medicine

AgResearch Impact Award – Dr. Doug Hayes, Biosystems Engineering & Soil Science 

Professional/Academic Award​ – Steve Tinkel, UT College of Veterinary Medicine

B. Ray Thompson Award – Dr. Diane Hendrix, UT College of Veterinary Medicine

Williams – “Prof” Lidvall Teaching Award – Jessy Harris Shanks, Animal Science

William D. Bishop Award – John Goddard, UT Extension – Loudon County

T.J. Whatley Young Scientist Award ​– Dr. Faith Critzer, Assistant Professor, Food Science & Technology

UTIA "Institute Professor"​ – Dr. Barry Rouse, UT College of Veterinary Medicine

In addition to these awards, the following UTIA professionals received promotions to professor:
Dr. Jennifer Franklin, Forestry, Wildlife & Fisheries
Dr. Juan Luis Jurat-Fuentes, Entomology & Plant Pathology
Dr. Angela McClure, Plant Sciences
Dr. Lisa Muller, Forestry, Wildlife & Fisheries

Through its mission of research, teaching and extension, the University of Tennessee Institute of Agriculture touches lives and provides Real. Life. Solutions.



Charles Denney, 865-382-8058 (mobile),​